Student Athletic Training

I didn’t know how much of an impact something that seemed so little, yet is so big can make such an impact on my life. The past two years of High School I have worked as a Student Athletic Trainer (SAT) with football players and soccer players mainly. I didn’t know that I would want to major in Athletic Training ( which is no longer the case at the moment) because of the impact I see even SAT’s make in the athletes lives, and the impact the athletes made in mine. I will never forget this experience of getting to work with the football team for two years and our schools soccer teams for one year. On December 2, 2016 this all came to an abrupt halt. I was no longer a SAT and all the memories came flooding back some were happy, and some were very sad just like that day.

On December 2, 2016 I was at our schools football state championship. Things were crazy but the boys seemed calm since the game was around the same time of a normal game. The boys ended up loosing and it was absolutely heart breaking to see the senior boys cry, and even some of the younger guys were crying. Us SAT’s all had tears in our eyes but a few of us just kind of lost it ( mainly me) I had no idea how much those boys meant to me until I saw them loose the senior year state championship, my heart broke and it is still hard to see some of the guys. They don’t all seem like them anymore and those friendships are already slowly disintegrating and it is really hard to watch that. I will be graduating from High School on December 20, 2016 and that means for me those ties with those boys is cutting even sooner. I will miss these guys so much, because they have become brothers to me and people that I can count on to make me laugh, cry, be annoyed, happy and so much more. Yes the guys make me mad and drive me up a wall but they mean the world to me and they are like my family.

The girls I worked with also made such an impact on my life. I have grown because of them and have of course fought with them and had some of the best memories with these girls. I want to keep these relationships outside of High School because they are all very sweet even though we may argue like sisters. I will forever cherish the many memories brought to my life by working with these girls. I learned how to manage my time better and balance out things in my life, because I was at football at least twenty hours a week. I am so happy that I got to work with these girls and see them grow and mature. I am sad things are ending so quickly but I know everything was worth it. I learned how to communicate better and learning how to keep things confidential.

There are many perks to working as a SAT and there were some parts that I didn’t like but you will have that no matter where you work in life. I loved forming a second family at school that I know I can rely on for anything. I learned how to take care of myself and others in certain situations.  Being surrounded by so many guys all the time did help me learn more about just in general how guys function. I am still by no means very knowledgeable about males they are still a little on the weird side but love them. If you love athletics and can’t play anymore then I defiantly recommend trying to get involved in your schools Student Athletic Training program if there is one. It will bring so many new opportunities and so many new things for you to learn.  I will miss being a SAT but it was fun while it lasted.

Leave a Reply

